Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Makalu Base Camp

Default Makalu Base Camp

I am hoping that someone can help me out with some information. Later on this year I am planning to trek from Tumlingtar to Makalu base camp. I have no mountaineering experience so not considering crossing over to Khumbu(maybe sometime in the future), instead simply returning the same way to Tumlingtar. A guide whose services I have been using a couple of times reckons it's a good trek. I can't recall having met any trekker who has been there. Is there anyone out there who can help me out a bit? What is it like scenery wise? Is it "harder" than for example Manaslu circuit or any of the "usual" treks? As an alternative I am considering the Kanchenjunga region. Has anyone been to both these areas? If so, which one is more scenic? I realize it's a very subjective issue, just trying to get an idea.
    Thank you

Default Re: Makalu Base Camp

Hi

I am heading off to do something similar later this year too. I will go from Tumlingtar to the base camp than on the way back head over to the Tumlingtar-Lulka trail before dropping off that at about Gudel and going to a local village before onto either Phaplu(fly) or Jiri (bus). I received a great deal of help with my plans from a guy who regularly posts on Lonely Planet. There are a few posts on there. I intend to do the trek using the teahouses and as i am going fairly late in the season praying that they will not be closed higher up. If you search you will find some blogs on ther trek with photos. PM me and i will pass you any other info i have gathered.

Kangchenjunga - i did it in 2008, doing a bit of camping and using local teahouses. Its a nice trek, locals were, it seemed to me, much more used to large expedition style trekking and I unfortunately had little interaction with them. Trails were tougher than the more popular treks as you would expect and infrastructure much less.

hope that helps