PDA

View Full Version : Everest from Tumlingtar, early October 2009

andyoxus
2nd September 2009, 12:19 AM
Hi there,

I'm looking for companions on the hike from Tumlingtar to Lukla and on into the main Everest region. I'm flying in to KTM on Oct 1st, and need to be back in KTM on 24th (for a climbing expedition! - I'm a complete novice).

Random bits of information:
- Seems to make sense to fly to Tumlingtar, and I should be able to sort out bookings from here (Toronto).
- I'll be flying back from Lukla, but of course you don't need to.
- I've been to the Everest region twice before, once from Jiri, and once from Lukla, so I know my way round pretty well. I've never been up the Thame valley or over to the Gokyo valley via the Renjo La (been to the top from Gokyo though), so that's part of the plan. Also some interesting side-trips (see Jamie McGuinness's exellent 'Trekking in the Everest Region').
- I'm a 37-year-old English expat living in Toronto.

Anyone?

kegarne
2nd September 2009, 07:30 AM
Me and a mate are flying into Tumlingtar to hike up the Arun to Lukla and then onto Mera peak. We are flying on October 1 to Tumlingtar so we'll probably be a couple of days ahead of you......

Landfall38
2nd September 2009, 08:20 AM
Those considering trek to/from Tumlingtar, I suggest to read the following, including my Dec 2008 update:

http://www.trekinfo.com/forums/showthread.php?p=48062#post48062

Also, contact Rich for a pdf of his excellent description of the trek

I'm not the best "spokesperson" for this trek -- I never intend to do it again (but one should NEVER say "never"... eh?)

kegarne
2nd September 2009, 03:08 PM
Cheers for the heads up Landfall, we intend to camp all the way to Lukla.

andyoxus
2nd September 2009, 10:45 PM
Thanks Landfall. I'd been toying with the idea of bringing my tent, too. Can't make my mind up...